Massachusetts School Library Association
HomeAbout UsMembersTake Action!NewsletterBookmark ContestProf.LearningAwardsResources
Member News PDF Print E-mail

Member News

Nancy Stenberg, Feature Editor

Put a * Star beside the names of these MSLA members:
Marcia Bernard , Valerie Diggs , Robin CicchettiJoanne Schmidt, Ann Perham , Erin Dalbec , Judi Paradis and Carrie Tucker .

* Marcia Bernard, Library Teacher at Shutesbury Elementary School has won a $5000 grant from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) administered by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.  The federal IMLS/LSTA “A Community of Readers” grant will be used to support struggling and reluctant readers across the school.

The one-year grant combines three strands: an expanded collections of high-interest materials including graphic novels and Playaways; creation of a cozy reading area with new furniture to entice students to sit and read awhile; and the development of a Community Reading Partners program. Over 300 new materials have arrived in the library, sparking student interest. In March, the new sofa and chair were purchased and quickly became a popular place to relax with a book. To date, nineteen adult community volunteers have committed to meeting weekly with a student to support their reading. Reading partners meet for 30-minutes each week and spend time in paired reading, discussing books, playing word games or doing reading exercises. Through these initiatives, we hope to see increased skill and interest in reading.

Literacy programming is also included, and will feature an outreach program from the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art on the Whole Book Approach, a hands-on art program, Lola’s Fandango, with illustrator Micha Archer, and a year end all-school Community Reading Celebration in June.


Congratulations to our MSLA colleagues * Valerie Diggs and * Robin Cicchetti on being named "Learning Commons Visionaries for 2012" by the editors of Teacher Librarian: The Journal for School Library Professionals. The award is announced in the April 2012 issue of Teacher Librarian in which Valerie and Robin's short written contributions are featured along with those of the other co-recipients. In addition, the winners are featured on the cover.

The recipients of the 2012 Teacher Librarian Leadership Awards include: Karen Bonanno, Andrew Churches, Robin Cicchetti, Sydnye Cohen, Valerie Diggs, Vi (Violet) Harada, Lyn Hay, Gwyneth Jones, Carol Koechlin, Sue Kowalski, Michelle Luhtala, Dawn Nelson, Mark Ray, Ross Todd, Joyce Valenza, Linda Waskow, and Tim Wilson. 


The Goldin Foundation honors two school librarians at the Educator Forum on April 23, 2012. * Joanne Schmidt (Medfield High School) and * Ann Perham (Needham High School) were nominated by their colleagues for their “outstanding achievements and contributions in classrooms, school and communities.”  Joanne and Ann shared their experiences, projects and insights in a panel presentation, along with the three other winners: Christopher Martell (History Teacher, Framingham High School); Lowell Mazie (Director, Mazie Mentoring Program, Framingham High School); Debra Pinto, Physical Education Teacher, Hopkinton Middle School).

Visit  the Goldin Foundation website for more information:


The MSLA SPOTLIGHT EDITOR is * Erin Dalbec (Hurley Middle School, Wayland). She takes over this feature that gives so many MSLA members a very positive "boost."


Congratulations to * Judi Paradis who was elected to the position of president elect of MSLA. She will assume her new tasks beginning June 1st.


With the election * Judi Paradis as MSLA's president elect, she will not be completing her two-year term as secretary. In accordance with the MSLA constitution, president Valerie Diggs has appointed * Carrie Tucker  to complete the remaining year. Carrie has been the Awards co-chairperson.


Last Updated ( Saturday, 14 April 2012 )

© 2015 Massachusetts School Library Association
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL License.